DEBATING SOCIETY









INTRODUCTION

ABHIVYAKTI, A PREEMINENT DEBATING SOCIETY OF SATYAWATI COLLEGE (MORNING) AND A KEY PLAYER IN THE DELHI UNIVERSITY DEBATING CIRCUIT, HAS BEEN FOSTERING ELOQUENT DISCOURSE SINCE ITS FOUNDING IN 2008-2009, DEDICATED TO PROMOTING DEBATES BOTH BY HOLDING COMPETITIONS AND PARTICIPATING IN HINDI, ENGLISH. URDU, AND SANSKRIT LANGUAGE DEBATES, THE SOCIETY HAS GARNERED PRAISE ON BOTH NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL ARENAS

CORE COMMITTEE

PRESIDENT - MOHIT VARSHNEY
VICE PRESIDENT - NEETU KUMARI , SANIŠ KUMAR
GENERAL SECRETARY - LAKSHMAN KUMAR
ADVISOR - AMRIT RAJ KUMAR
SECRETARY - ADITYA TYAGI , SUSHANT KUMAR
JOINT SECRETARY - MEHUL BHATNAGAR, AADARSH
NAYAN
TREASURER - SAAMIYA RAJ RATTAN
MEDIA HEAD - RISHIKA RANA
CHIEF COORDINATOR OF EVENT - ANKITA SINGH

HEAD COORDINATOR OF EVENT - SHIVAM SHARMA, VIPIN MISHRA, KIRTI GOYAL, AYUSH KUMAR, YASH DIXIT

EVENT COORDINATOR - RITESH RAJ, MUHAMMAD SAAD, SAHIL RAZA, ANAND KUMAR

Orientation and recruitment process

Abhivyakti kickstarted the year by starting with the orientation and recruitment process for the new batch. We held our "Orientation" on 24th September, 2024 in LT1, where we briefed 100+ students on all formats of debating including Conventional and parliamentary forms of debating.

Recruitment process began right after, consisting of 3 rounds of screening process with the initial one being a conventional debate, 2nd round consisted of a Turncoat debate and 3rd round included one final interview.

We welcomed about 35+ new members into Abhivyakti after the recruitment process.

Intra College Debate Competition

One of the very first debate competitions that Abhivyakti organised this year was the Intra College Debate Competition. Intra College Debate is also a second chance for students who were not able to make it through recruitment. This time it was held on 27th November 2024 in the Satya Auditorium. It was for the first time judged by our very own alumni - Chandan, Shruti, Deepali, Arya. Our judges ensured absolute fairness in the competition. We provide 2200 cash prize, winning certificates and medals to winners.

Seminar on women's Day

Abhivyakti: the debating society organised a seminar on 6th March 2025, to pay its humble tribute to women all over the globe, for the celebrations of international women's day. Ms. Monica Singh, the revered commissioner of income tax department was the chief speaker of our event, where she guided students on complexities of patriarchy and feminism in the current world along with using her personal experiences in helping students academically. It was certainly a profound seminar.

JASHN-E-ABHIVYAKTI

JASHN-E-ABHIVYAKTI is the Annual National Debating fest of Abhivyakti, The Debating Society. It is a three day event comprising of three National Debating Competitions:-

- 1. Janak Kapoor Memorial National Debate
- 2. Vaktavyam: The National Turncoat Debate
- 3. Jaswant Kaur Memorial National Debate The total prize pool of the event is more than fifty five thousand (55k+).

Janak Kapoor Memorial National Debate

The much awaited Thirteenth edition of 'Janak Kapoor Memorial National Debate Competition is a homage to Late Mrs. Janak Kapoor, was organised on 2nd April, 2025 In order to continue her legacy, the prize money and the trophy was patronized by her daughter Dr. Anju Seth. We allocated slots to more than 100 debaters from different colleges and 13 universities spread across various states of India.

It is based upon conventional debate format organized in four languages i.e Hindi, English, Sanskrit and Urdu. Jitendra Rana, IPS was the honorable chief guest for our event, who extended his kindest regards towards successful commencement of the debate.

Vaktavyam: The National Turncoat Debate Vaktavyam: The National Turncoat Debate is an annual National event that happens during the Jashn-eabhivyakti. Its fourth edition took place on 3rd April 2025 .We allocated slots to more than 50 debaters from different seven universities spread across various states of India. It is based upon the Turncoat debate format. Abhivyakti also introduced the prestigious rolling trophy for the event in this session, which was called "Mange Ram Vats Memorial Rolling Trophy" in memory of late father of our convener Prof. Raj Rani Sharma, who very kindly sponsored the Making of the trophy. Mr. Rajiv Bansal was our Chief guest for the event who also sponsored 5 more consolation prizes making Vaktavyam grander and bigger than ever before.

Jaswant Kaur Memorial National Debate

The Jaswant Kaur Memorial National Debate 2025, is a homage to Late Mrs. Jaswant Kaur. The competition was organised on 4th April 2025. A total of 30 teams from various colleges and universities across different states of India participate in the event and competed for five different prizes i.e. Winner and Runner up team-English and

The Best Institution. This format of debate is very unique as it is a different kind of parliamentary debate which is conducted simultaneously in both the languages Hindi and English and the prizes are given separately to the different teams. The prestigious Jaswant Kaur Memorial running trophy is awarded to the institution which ranks the highest in both the pool (i.e. English and Hindi) and this time it goes with Maharaja Agrasen College.

Achievements

Abhivyakti: The debating society brought humongous amounts of laurels back home, with over 90+ achievements this season we were brimming with pride and commitment to the debating. These achievements not only motivate the coming prodigy but are great lessons in perseverance and dedication. Aditya being an invited adjudicator, Nayan and Mehul's win in Swaroop Conventional Debate, Shivani's break as an adjudicator in ARSD Hindi PD, Ambika's break in Open Hindi PD in MLNC are just a few of our feathers in cap.